Giorgio Armani Rouge d’Armani 401

I can feel my wallet just quivering. I have slowly started branching out into the high-end of the cosmetics world and it ain’t pretty (for my wallet anyways).

I got my grubby hands on a Giorgio Armani lipstick in the shade 401 which is an orange-red as seen here on Rihanna.

First, let’s talk about the packaging. Sleek, black and shiny. It fits nicely into your hand. The cap clicks into place thanks to a magnet somewhere inside the casing. And it’s very sturdy. So it’d be great for a night out as you can throw it into your make up bag and not have to worry about the lid falling off.

There’s an engraved GA on the lipstick bullet and where the cap meets the tube. Lovely. I love little details like these. Makes buying high-end cosmetics a bit more luxurious lol.

Now, application. Wow, as the word ‘satin’ on the box suggests, it glides on with no tugging. The first swipe gave so much colour. I did another layer because I applied this straight from the tube so I wanted it to be even. It didn’t feel heavy at all on my lips. Very lightweight and creamy. It’s marketed as a long-lasting lipstick and it’s definitely a stayer. Wear time is on average four to five hours for me and this is through eating and drinking. As with most, if not all, red lipsticks, it leaves a nice pretty red stain :)

The shape of the lipstick allowed for a pretty precise application straight from the tube. For ‘real life’ purposes, I’d probably play it safe and use a lip brush to apply it but for swatching purposes, I just applied it from the tube and had no trouble at all.

And yes, swatch pic for you all. I don’t do the best swatches but I find swatches so helpful and so…here you go.

These retail for $30USD (I couldn’t find an Australian retail price for these lipsticks. If you know it, please let me know and I can update the post) and contain 4g/0.14oz of product.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ailing
    Sep 20, 2011 @ 16:31:30

    That lipstick is perfection!!! I still have yet to try any Giorgio Armani beauty products. :$

    I miss you heaps!!! :’(

    I hope all has been well, babe. xx

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Blog Link Love | My Funny Valentine
  3. Jacqueline Ma
    Sep 24, 2011 @ 15:50:40

    What a beautiful pop of colour. Love your lip swatch, very pretty.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

