Review: Bourjois Highlighting Powder

Overall rating: 4/5
Price: 3/5
Packaging quality: 4/5
Would I buy this again? Yes but not at Australian retail price.

WHAT IS IT? A powder highlighter by Bourjois.
HOW DO YOU USE IT? Lightly tap your fan brush over the powder and then apply to the high planes of your face – cheekbones, chin and centre of the nose for a glow from within. Can also be applied to décolletage.
WHAT DOES IT LOOK LIKE? The powder, shaped like a block of chocolate, is housed in a cardboard book style.
PRICE: $30AUD
TEXTURE AND/OR SMELL: Smooth and silky to touch with a slight chocolate-y smell.
MY OPINION:
For $30AUD, you get 16.5g/0.6 oz of product compared with say, NARS Albatross highlighting powder which is $62AUD for 4.5g/0.16 oz. Seeing as you only use a tiny amount of product each use, I am sure the product will last you a long time!

Inside, it says (on the packaging):

“Give into your craving and enhance your beauty! All the intensity of light captured in a fine pearly powder for an instant burst of radiance. Its delicious perfume and ultra soft texture will have you melting with pleasure. Apply with the brush over your delletage and add highlights to your face (forehead, cheekbones, chin) for a sheer luminous result”.

I used this today to highlight my cheeks and my brow bones and I am impressed. It gave me the most subtle and radiant glow!
The pearly layer over the powder means a *slight* shimmer only when the light hits and not glittertastic like many highlighters.
As a browbone highlighter, it gives a very soft and glowy effect which I love! I’ve been using other highlighters which just seem so harsh.

The texture itself is fantastic! Smooth like butter and great pigmentation for a highlighting powder. I didn’t have to reapply the powder nor redip my brush again onto the powder.

Now..the smell. Usually, I am not a fan of fragrances in cosmetics cos half the time, it doesn’t smell that nice but this surprised me. It’s got a nice chocolate vanilla smell and it’s not overpowering. More of light scent which doesn’t actually linger after you’ve applied it to your face.

Okay, for $30AUD, I wouldn’t have expected the product to be packaged in cardboard. It’s something along the lines of theBalm’s packaging. Nice in theory, not so good in practice. There’s also no mirror and no brush which comes with it which isn’t a big deal for me but may be for some 🙂

Ingredients:

Swatch comparisons (L-R: MAC Vanilla pigment, Bourjois highlighting powder, MAC Ricepaper eyeshadow, NYX Barely There eyeshadow and NARS Albatross highlighting powder)

I’m not sure why Ricepaper looks so off here as everything else looks pretty much true to life!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sara (The Makeup Snob)
    Aug 14, 2009 @ 05:32:47

    >ohhh amazing swatches Thank you!!

    Reply

  2. XOVINTAGELOVE
    Aug 15, 2009 @ 06:14:06

    >Thanks & no problems 😀

    Reply

  3. Kalmo
    Aug 25, 2009 @ 01:20:38

    >Wow right post about highlighting! This is very helpful and thank you for your swatches. I'm def. a new fan and follower! I really lemming after that NYX Barely There eyeshadow now. I also love all your pictures because they're very big and clear. ^^

    Reply

  4. XOVINTAGELOVE
    Aug 25, 2009 @ 08:17:19

    >@Kalmo – I'm glads you found it helpful 🙂 And I appreciate you following my blog 😀 NYX Barely There is a great d/s browbone highlighter. Does its job without breaking the bank 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

