How my love affair with MAC began ..

Dear MAC,

Four years ago, I had never even heard of you. Three years ago, I came across one of your counters in Myer and gawked at the $30-something price tag for an eyeshadow. But a few months down the track, I decided to purchase some pigment samples and the rest was history. Honestly, I’m not sure why I started off with pigments. I mean, what’s a newbie gonna do with pigments? Now, the majority of my make up arsenal consists of you, MAC.

Love, XOVINTAGELOVE.

MAC pigments are:

Pigment is a highly concentrated loose colour powder that contains ingredients to help it adhere to the skin. Create a subtle wash of colour or an intense effect. Does not streak or cake. Easy to blend and long-lasting.

I started off with just samples cos the full size jars they come in can last you two lifetimes. Seriously. You only need to use a teensy bit for such a concentrated level of colour! However, with some colours, I decided that maybe I do need a full jar so now my MAC pigment collection includes not only samples but about 12 full size jars 🙂 They’re really versatile! Pigments are just restricted for eye use. I use some for lip colours, highlighting cheekbones, mixing into clear nail polish etc

Don’t let their size fool you. You’d be hard pressed to finish one of these jars!

Here’s a real quick and dirty swatch of one of my many favs – Deckchair and Coco Beach.

Deckchair, a gorgeous peachy pink, was released with the D’Bohemia collection. It’s texture’s quite smooth but it’s pretty intense in shimmer not colour. I love using this as a cheek highlighter and even mixed in with Vaseline for a nice pretty lip colour.

Coco Beach is really deep in colour – love it! Coco Beach is kinda like burnt metallic bronze in colour with gold shimmer and reddish undertones. Again, like many of MAC’s pigments, it’s finely milled and not chunky like some of the other MAC pigments (Rose, I’m talking to you!). I’m not sure which collection this was originally released in but MAC has re-relased this in their smaller vials for some past holiday collections.

Stay tuned for more swatches of my MAC pigment collection 🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stefanie
    Nov 28, 2009 @ 02:20:28

    >Deckchair was one of my first few pigment purchases, such a lovely colour!

    Reply

  2. XOVINTAGELOVE
    Dec 01, 2009 @ 00:58:32

    >@Stefanie, Deckchair is just divine ❤

    Reply

Leave a Reply

