Chanel Gabrielle Rouge Coco

I am sensing a very dangerous addiction coming up…

As you’ll remember, my first Chanel product was the joues contraste in Rose Turbillon – gifted by my darling boyfriend. Now, I’m slowly adding onto that with this acquisition of the Gabrielle rouge coco.

I first saw swatches of Gabrielle on Jen’s blog & I thought to myself, “Must. Get. Hands. On. Gabrielle.” A true, vivid red in a glossy lipstick form? Hells yes!

Like most of Chanel’s cosmetics, the packaging is DIVINE. Sleek black & gold detailing with the white interlocking C’s on the cap & of course the Chanel imprint on the lipstick bullet. Who can resist such a luxurious item?

The rouge coco lipsticks were released earlier this year & were designed with the intention of being: hydrating, pigmented & smooth. The rouge cocos were basically attempting to lure the lipgloss generation back to the sophistication of lipstick.

So like I said, Gabrielle is a true, vivid, ruby red. Application was AMAZING – I didn’t have to pull & tug this on my lips in order to get a decent colour. The first swipe was sheer but not too sheer – the shade came out like a coral red, similar to MAC Viva Glam Cyndi lipstick. The following two swipes gave me the shade I wanted :)

In terms of lasting power, I got three to four hours of wear with Gabrielle :) After the 2nd hour, it does fade a bit but it leave a stain that you can get away without having to reapply.

Where to purchase these lipsticks of luxury…

In Australia, you can head towards your local Chanel counter in Myer or David Jones or the Chanel beauty boutique in Bondi Junction Westfield & see for yourselves just how wonderful these lipsticks are. RRP: $50aud

Alternatively, these only cost $32usd over the pond in the US. So if you’ve got a US friend or take advantage of those wonderful parcel forwarding companies, you can save a couple of dollars :)

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jen W
    Jun 17, 2011 @ 09:18:09

    Gabrielle looks gorgeous on you! Glad to be your enabler :)

    Reply

  2. Thi Ly Tran
    Jun 18, 2011 @ 08:48:06

    Oh my!! I love your new layout and blog!

    I had no idea who it was, but now I do. So, Yay for your new layout and Yay for blogging again!

    xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

