The ABBW – Part 1

If you’re following me on Twitter, then you will know that I attended the first ever Australian Beauty Bloggers Weekend (ABBW)!

I’ll be blogging about the event in 3 parts as it’ll just be too wordy and picture heavy if I did it all in one go.

So for me, like a lot of other beauty bloggers, it all began on Friday šŸ™‚ I made me way to the Benefit Brow Bar in Paddington to get a complimentary brow wax and tint. Whilst I was there, I bumped into Tara and we had a mini catch up. The brow tint got me all nervous as it was my first time getting a tint. The Benefit lady didn’t make the tint too dark or too light so as not to make me go into shock when I see my brows lol! She then filled in my brows – another first. I wasn’t used to having such dark and prominent brows but later that night, the girls said my brows looked good. I hope they’re not just saying that šŸ˜›

Benefit goodie bag

I left with a gorgeous Benefit goodie bag which included a cute hand held mirror and the brand new Watt’s Up, due to be released on October 8th. It’s a brand new highlighting product from Benefit and we all know I love my highlighters šŸ™‚

Benefit goodie bag

After Benefit, I visited mum at work to show off my new brows lol and then headed to Alexandria for the Rae Morris event.

Rae's studio

Sweaty Betty PR organised a fantastic event – they had freaking macarons (macaroons?) which tasted lovely.

The spread at the Rae Morris brush collection launch courtesy of Sweaty Betty PR

We sat down for about an hour of learning about Rae’s new brush set and she also shared some great tips for make up application.

Rae demonstrating how soft her brushes are

What I learnt from Rae:

– Few select make up artists purchase their brushes from a man in Japan.

– These brushes cost a minimum of $400USD each. They’re all handmade.

– Rae used to purchase hers from this man but found herself still making adjustments to the brushes to suit her needs. When she was approached by Crown Brushes to make a brush set, she set out to make the best brushes in the world. Rae aimed to have her brushes to be as good and even better. As for the price tag, well, they can’t be more than $400USD! The brushes in the Rae Morris collection average around $35USD each.

– All her brushes have the PETA tick of approval.

– The brushes are made from blue squirrel – most expensive animal hair besides mink. The handles are made from recycled bamboo and for every brush set sold, a new tree is planted!

– THEY’RE MAGNETIC. This amazed me. Rae’s reasoning for this is when you’re a make up artists working shows, photoshoots etc, brushes just seem to go walkabouts. Having them magnetic means you can find them easily in a short period of time. She’s coming out soon with a magnetic tray which you can use to place the brushes.

– For every brush in the collection, there is a corresponding handmade (hand drawn?) face chart showing you what each brush does.

Rae’s brush launch includes a set of 26 brushes for $899.00 which may be out of reach for many of us. I reckon they’re an investment though and if I had the moolah, I’d so purchase it. If you break it down, it works out to be about $35 for a brush which really – is about the same or even cheaper than MAC brushes here in Australia for much better quality! Unfortunately, the brushes are only available as a set so for the mean time, I shall just dream about the brushes.

Rae Morris brushes (Image taken from the Sweaty Betty PR Facebook page)

Rae Morris brush collection launch

I was blown away. I left the event feeling very pleased šŸ™‚ Rae was generous enough to gift each of us with either a radiance brush or a deluxe precision shader brush.

Generous gift from Rae

After all that excitement, I still had to get myself to Darling Harbour to register for the ABBW!

I was about 10 minutes late for registration but luckily Jacie and Kimmi stayed open for registration for a bit longer!

I was so glad to finally meet Jacie, who is so witty and has perfect nails and Kimmi, who is a professional at what she does.

Passes!

At registration, we were given our passes (this was what I was looking forward to) but what I didn’t count on were the goodie bags from LeTan, Australis, Dove and Garnier. These sponsors were so generous!

The generous goodie bags from Garnier, Le Tan, Australis and Dove

After registration, some of the Sydney bloggers grabbed dinber at Hurricanes. I love Hurricanes – it never disappoints which is why there is always such a long freaking line.

My dinner at Hurricanes

Dinner was lovely. It was good to grab a bite, have a drink (well some did) and share a few laughs (sweet and salty, anyone?)

After all that fun, it was time to head home and get ready for the first official day of the ABBW.

Leave a Reply

