My First Chanel Joues Contraste


Thanks to my boyfriend, I am in possession of my first Chanel joues contraste in the Asia exclusive shade – Rose Tourbillon.

I must say, the packaging is so luxe! The blush compact comes with its own black velvet pouch with the Chanel logo on it.

Chanel blushes come in a nice sleek black plastic casing with the logo etched on it in a contrasting whtie.
It also comes with a small brush and includes a mirror. Very handy πŸ™‚


These will set you back $43usd/$71aud and I think the price is fair for the amount of product you get – 0.14oz/4g.

I think I am now converted! So in love with the texture of this – finely milled & very smooth. It’s very well pigmented too – one tiny dab on my brush gives me enough powder to apply to both my cheeks!

Now onto Rose Tourbillon. It looks frighteningly bright pink in the compact! But it somehow works very nicely once applied. It turns into a very wearable glowy shade of pink and the shimmers make it look like a glow from within.

After reading up on these blushes, it seems that the US version of the joues contraste blushes aren’t baked whereas the European and Asian versions are. I guess this might make a bit of a difference in regards to pigmentation and whatnot..

One thing that is consistent with all these is the rose scent. I don’t mind it too much but I can do without out.

Here’s how it looks on me:


Anyway, here are swatches πŸ™‚

Ingredients:

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jadegrrrl
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 05:44:26

    >Wow what a gorgeous blush ❀ It looks perfect on you πŸ™‚

    Reply

  2. XOVINTAGELOVE
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 06:06:31

    >@Jadegrrl – It's so pretty! Such a shame it's Asian exclusive though 😦 Means that not a lot of makeup lovers will get to enjoy what it has to offer!

    Reply

  3. Jen W
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 12:47:21

    >Pretty! I've always wanted to try the Chanel Joue Contrasts but always seem to forget to try them at the store

    Reply

  4. Carmen
    Mar 26, 2011 @ 01:58:00

    >You're so lucky! My boyfriend's been trying to get me this blush in Singapore but it's OOS 😦

    Reply

  5. thilytran
    Mar 26, 2011 @ 07:25:56

    >It looks lovely! I'm kicking myself for not picking any up whilst I was in America.I agree with the packaging! I have to admit, I kinda initially bought my compact foundation due to wanting to have the black pouch! Call me shallow!But it collects dust like nothing else! Anyway…. Lovely colour, makes your cheeks GLOW!

    Reply

  6. XOVINTAGELOVE
    Mar 30, 2011 @ 13:19:13

    >@Jen W – Their prices here made me terrified. So I've always lusted after them from afar. The JCs are really amazing.

    Reply

  7. XOVINTAGELOVE
    Mar 30, 2011 @ 13:20:06

    >@Carmen – Nooooo 😦 My boyfriend got this in Malaysia at Parksons. Maybe a trip to Malaysia? LOL

    Reply

  8. XOVINTAGELOVE
    Mar 30, 2011 @ 13:21:05

    >@thilytran – Wait for the Sephora F&F sale in November & get one (or two!)Haha, sounds like something I would totally do. Pretty packaging sucks me in!Thanks, love xx

    Reply

Leave a comment